Books We're Known For

The Friendship List
  • Powerhouse Susan Mallery is a #1 New York Times bestselling author and writes across three formats
  • Her titles have spent more than 500 combined weeks on the New York Times and USA TODAY bestseller lists
  • “Mallery beautifully illustrates the power of female friendship and the importance of reaching for one’s dreams.”
    —Publishers Weekly
The Christmas Sisters
  • A USA TODAY bestselling author of contemporary romance and women’s fiction
  • “Morgan’s gently humorous aesthetic will leave readers feeling optimistic and satisfied.”
    —Publishers Weekly on A Wedding in December
Country Strong
  • #1 New York Times and USA TODAY bestselling author of more than one hundred novels
  • The first book in the brand-new Painted Pony Creek series about three best friends whose strength, honor, and independence exemplify the Montana land they love
  • “Miller has a found a perfection niche with charming western romances and cowboys who will set readers’ hearts aflutter.”
    RT Book Reviews
The Somerset Girls
  • A New York Times and USA TODAY bestselling author
  • The heartwarming story of two sisters who couldn’t be more different, the familial ties that bind, and a brand-new love that’s just where you least expect it
  • “Brimming with heart, heat, and humor.”
    —Jill Shalvis, New York Times bestselling author
Cottage at the Beach
  • A USA TODAY bestselling author of dozens of novels
  • “Lee Tobin McClain dazzles with unforgettable characters, fabulous smalltown settings, and a big dose of heart.”
    —Susan Mallery, New York Times bestselling author
The Sea Glass Cottage
  • Beloved for her realistic heartwarming relationships in both paperback and hardcover formats
  • Tells the story of an emotional homecoming that brings hope and healing to three generations of women, set on the Northern California coast
  • “[RaeAnne’s] books are wonderfully romantic, feelgood reads that end with me sighing over the last pages.”
    —#1 New York Times bestselling author Debbie Macomber

We're Excited About

The Magnolia Sisters
  • An inheritance brought Avery Keller to Magnolia, North Carolina, but love just might keep her there
  • “Striking the perfect balance of romance, heat, and drama, this optimistic love story is a sweet start to a promising series, perfect for fans of Debbie Macomber.”
    —Publishers Weekly, starred review
  • “Major’s characters and smalltown romance worldbuilding are unique, engaging, and emotionally compelling…A dynamic start to a series with a refreshingly original premise.”
    —Kirkus Reviews
Follow Your Heart Follow Your Heart
  • The New York Times bestselling author of more than 100 romances
  • “A heartwarming romance.”
    —Library Journal on Love in Catalina Cove
  • “Brenda Jackson is the queen of newly discovered love… If there’s one thing Jackson knows how to do, it’s how to pluck those heartstrings and stir up some seriously delicious drama.”
    —Bookpage
A Royal Kiss & Tell
  • The next book in the brandnew A Royal Wedding series from a New York Times, USA TODAY and Publishers Weekly bestselling author
  • “Secrets, scandals and steamy chemistry.”
    —Women’s World on The Princess Plan
Christina Dodd Photo Credit: Marc von Borstel
Wrong Alibi
  • Don’t miss Wrong Alibi, the new book from New York Times bestselling author Christina Dodd about a young woman who escapes into the Alaskan wilderness after being accused of a brutal crime and fights to prove her innocence.
  • A young woman on the run after being accused of a brutal crime fights to prove her innocence in this new book from New York Times bestselling author Christina Dodd
  • “No one does high-stakes, high-voltage suspense quite like Dodd.”
    —Booklist, starred review

Acquiring Editors

Susan Swinwood

Susan Swinwood Editorial Director

Susan has been with Harlequin since 1999 and has worked on everything from Series romance to commercial literary fiction. In between manuscripts, she likes to relax with her husband at their farmhouse northwest of Toronto, and sometimes even reads for fun.

I’m looking for: Diverse and contemporary stories told with edgy humor and a modern voice; a fresh take on small-town romance with a strong sense of community. Big hooks and a commercial voice are a must.

Michele Bidelspach

Michele Bidelspach Executive Editor, HQN and Graydon House

Born and raised in Virginia, Michele began her publishing career at Grand Central Publishing (then Warner Books) where she acquired women’s fiction and romance for 15+ years. She joined Harlequin Books in 2018. Throughout her career, she’s had the privilege of working with amazing authors, both bestselling and debut alike.

My weaknesses are a strong voice, unique hook, and unforgettable characters and I gravitate towards them like a moth to a flame. I’m particularly interested in mainstream fiction about the complicated bonds of family and friendship and the complexities of marriage, especially when told with wit and emotional depth. Heartwrenching love stories and feel-good romantic comedies are my soft spot and for me, there’s nothing better than getting swept up in lush historical novels, particularly those featuring strong female characters with a unique twist. As for my wish list, I’d love to find a big, beautiful, heartfelt book about the struggles that immigrant families face in the modern world.

I’m looking for: A strong voice, unforgettable characters and an irresistible hook, especially emotional contemporary romances; fresh, vibrant romantic comedies; fast-paced romantic suspense; and lush historicals.

Cat Clyne

Cat Clyne Editor

I’m looking for: Stories I haven’t heard before with a slam-dunk hook; punchy banter, or a surprising take on evergreen tropes, fresh historicals with a modern feel and twisty psychological thrillers. Particularly interested in diverse or marginalized voices, swoon-worthy heroes who upset toxic masculinity, and unforgettable characters.

Brittany Lavery

Brittany Lavery Editor

Brittany has a diverse publishing background: having begun her career as an intern at the Cooke Agency, she has held both editorial and foreign rights positions at Penguin Random House Canada and the University of Toronto Press prior to joining the HQN team. She holds an MA in English Literature from York University, where she focused her research on the work of Ray Bradbury. Brittany is always on the lookout for fresh, engaging voices for HQN—she has a bias towards speculative love stories like The Time Traveler’s Wife, for big, sprawling family epics, and for page-turning contemporary stories like The Hating Game. Brittany reads widely and voraciously, and when she doesn’t have her nose stuck in a book, you can find her on the soccer field or watching baseball.

I’m looking for: Fresh, edgy contemporary romance; rom-com with an original concept; and especially #OwnVoices stories. In any story, strong world building and great chemistry are key!