Books We're Known For

The Friendship List
  • Powerhouse Susan Mallery is a #1 New York Times bestselling author and writes across three formats
  • Her titles have spent more than 500 combined weeks on the New York Times and USA TODAY bestseller lists
  • “Mallery beautifully illustrates the power of female friendship and the importance of reaching for one’s dreams.”
    Publishers Weekly
The Christmas Sisters
  • A USA TODAY bestselling author of contemporary romance and women’s fiction
  • “Morgan’s gently humorous aesthetic will leave readers feeling optimistic and satisfied.”
    Publishers Weekly on A Wedding in December
Country Strong
  • #1 New York Times and USA TODAY bestselling author of more than one hundred novels
  • The first book in the brand-new Painted Pony Creek series about three best friends whose strength, honor, and independence exemplify the Montana land they love
  • “Miller has a found a perfection niche with charming western romances and cowboys who will set readers’ hearts aflutter.”
    RT Book Reviews
The Somerset Girls
  • A New York Times and USA TODAY bestselling author
  • The heartwarming story of two sisters who couldn’t be more different, the familial ties that bind, and a brand-new love that’s just where you least expect it
  • “Brimming with heart, heat, and humor.”
    —Jill Shalvis, New York Times bestselling author
The Sea Glass Cottage
  • Beloved for her realistic heartwarming relationships in both paperback and hardcover formats
  • Tells the story of an emotional homecoming that brings hope and healing to three generations of women, set on the Northern California coast
  • “[Her] books are wonderfully romantic, feelgood reads that end with me sighing over the last pages.” —Debbie Macomber, #1 New York Times bestselling author
The Deception
  • When missing turns to murdered, one woman's search for answers will take her to a place she never wanted to go in this page turning novel from New York Times bestselling author Kat Martin
  • “Fans of romantic suspense won’t be able to put this book down until the final page is turned.”—Publishers Weekly
Wyoming True
  • A New York Times bestselling author and voted one of the top ten romance writers in America
  • An opposites-attract love story between a gruff rancher and a small-town beauty in her fan favorite Wyoming Men series
  • "...You just can't do better than a Diana Palmer story to make your heart lighter and smile brighter." —Fresh Fiction
Follow Your Heart
  • The New York Times bestselling author of more than 100 romances
  • “A heartwarming romance.” —Library Journal on Love in Catalina Cove
  • “Brenda Jackson is the queen of newly discovered love… If there’s one thing Jackson knows how to do, it’s how to pluck those heartstrings and stir up some seriously delicious drama.” —Bookpage
Out of the Storm
  • A new Buckhorn, Montana series from one of the most beloved and bestselling authors of Western romance
  • "Daniels is a perennial favorite on the romantic suspense front, and I might go as far as to label her the cowboy whisperer.”—Bookpage on Luck of the Draw

We're Excited About

Reunion at the Shore
  • A USA TODAY bestselling author of dozens of novels
  • “Lee Tobin McClain dazzles with unforgettable characters, fabulous small town settings, and a big dose of heart.” —Susan Mallery, New York Times bestselling author
The Magnolia Sisters
  • An inheritance brought Avery Keller to Magnolia, North Carolina, but love just might keep her there
  • “Striking the perfect balance of romance, heat, and drama, this optimistic love story is a sweet start to a promising series, perfect for fans of Debbie Macomber.”
    Publishers Weekly, starred review
  • “Major’s characters and smalltown romance worldbuilding are unique, engaging, and emotionally compelling…A dynamic start to a series with a refreshingly original premise.”
    —Kirkus Reviews
A Princess by Christmas
  • The next book in the brand new A Royal Wedding series from a New York Times, USA TODAY and Publishers Weekly bestselling author
  • “Secrets, scandals and steamy chemistry.” —Women’s World on The Princess Plan
What the Heart Wants
  • From the #1 bestselling author of the beloved Calendar Girl books comes the first in a witty, wise and emotionally compelling new series, where coming home is just the beginning
  • “Audrey Carlan has created a gem of a story about sisterhood, love, second chances, and the kind of wanderlust that won't be silenced, reminding us that sometimes the most important journey is the one we take home.” —New York Times bestselling author Lexi Ryan
The Wildest Ride
  • An exciting Western debut from a new voice in Romance
The Darkest King
  • A New York Times and USA TODAY bestselling author of over seventy books
  • “A seductive, snarky, fast-paced novel with an intricately woven plot, The Lords of the Underground saga continues in grand fashion with The Darkest King. Definitely recommended.” —Harlequin Junkies
  • “One of the premiere authors of paranormal romance. Gena Showalter delivers an utterly spellbounding story!” —#1 New York Times bestselling author Kresley Cole
Wrong Alibi
  • A young woman on the run after being accused of a brutal crime fights to prove her innocence in this new book from New York Times bestselling author Christina Dodd
  • “No one does high-stakes, high-voltage suspense quite like Dodd.” —Booklist, starred review
Scandalous Secrets
  • A Publishers Weekly Buzz Books 2020 Romance Selection!
  • “Emotions, relationships and business are tangled in this soap opera-esque tale, and readers will find themselves unable to look away from Williams’ well-drawn and larger-than-life characters. It’s impossible not to enjoy this entertaining glimpse into a world of wealth, political ambition and familial loyalties.”—Bookpage on Forbidden Promises

Acquiring Editors

Susan Swinwood

Susan Swinwood Editorial Director

Susan has been with Harlequin since 1999 and has worked on everything from Series romance to commercial literary fiction. In between manuscripts, she likes to relax with her husband at their farmhouse northwest of Toronto, and sometimes even reads for fun.

I’m looking for: Diverse and contemporary stories told with edgy humor and a modern voice; a fresh take on small-town romance with a strong sense of community. Big hooks and a commercial voice are a must.

Michele Bidelspach

Michele Bidelspach Executive Editor

Born and raised in Virginia, Michele began her publishing career at Grand Central Publishing (then Warner Books) where she acquired women’s fiction and romance for 15+ years. She joined Harlequin Books in 2018. Throughout her career, she’s had the privilege of working with amazing authors, both bestselling and debut alike.

My weaknesses are a strong voice, unique hook, and unforgettable characters and I gravitate towards them like a moth to a flame. I’m particularly interested in mainstream fiction about the complicated bonds of family and friendship and the complexities of marriage, especially when told with wit and emotional depth. Heartwrenching love stories and feel-good romantic comedies are my soft spot and for me, there’s nothing better than getting swept up in lush historical novels, particularly those featuring strong female characters with a unique twist. As for my wish list, I’d love to find a big, beautiful, heartfelt book about the struggles that immigrant families face in the modern world.

I’m looking for: A strong voice, unforgettable characters and an irresistible hook, especially emotional contemporary romances; fresh, vibrant romantic comedies; fast-paced romantic suspense; and lush historicals.

Cat Clyne

Cat Clyne Editor

Cat Clyne joined Harlequin in the fall of 2019 and works with both bestselling and debut authors. Cat acquires romance for HQN Books, and commercial and book club fiction, women’s fiction, historical fiction, and thrillers for Graydon House. Prior to Harlequin, Cat worked at Sourcebooks, where she built a dynamic list of romance authors. Born in Germany to diplomat parents, Cat has a Master’s degree from New York University and lives in Brooklyn.

I’m looking for: Stories I haven’t heard before with a slam-dunk hook; punchy banter, or a surprising take on evergreen tropes, smart rom-coms, fresh historicals with a modern feel, and twisty psychological thrillers. Particularly interested in diverse or marginalized voices, swoon-worthy heroes who upset toxic masculinity, and unforgettable characters.

Brittany Lavery

Brittany Lavery Editor

Brittany has a diverse publishing background: having begun her career as an intern at a literary agency in 2009, she has held both editorial and foreign rights positions at Penguin Random House Canada and the University of Toronto Press prior to joining the HQN team.

I’m looking for: Fresh, edgy contemporary romance and rom-com with an original concept. I’m especially looking for #OwnVoices stories. I’m a sucker for smart, snappy dialogue, high stakes, strong world-building, and fantastic chemistry.

Lynn Raposo
Editorial Assistant
HQN Books

Lynn.Raposo@harpercollins.com

Errin Toma
Editorial Assistant
HQN Books

Errin.Toma@harlequin.com